<$BlogRSDURL$>

"And the stars are projectors, yeah, projecting our lives down to this planet Earth." - Modest Mouse


3.18.2004

Asteroid! 

Nasa reports that a 30m asterois will pass near the Earth today. While the media has made this out to be something unusual and threatening, scientists assure us that this sort of thing happens all the time. Frankly, I'm not sure if these "reassurance" makes me feel better or worse.
The object, designated 2004 FH, is roughly 30 meters (100 feet) in diameter and will pass just 43,000 km (26,500 miles, or about 3.4 Earth diameters) above the Earth's surface on March 18th at 5:08 PM EST (2:08 PM PST, 22:08 UTC).

On average, objects about the size of 2004 FH pass within this distance roughly once every two years, but most of these small objects pass by undetected. This particular close approach is unusual only in the sense that scientists know about it.

Comments: Post a Comment

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?